skip to Main Content

Judy Aschner, MD – Chairperson

Dr. Judy Aschner completed medical school training, pediatric residency and neonatology fellowship at the University of Rochester School of Medicine. Her past academic leadership roles include the Julia Carell Stadler Professor of Pediatrics and Chief of Neonatology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (2004-2013), the Michael I. Cohen Professor and University Chair of Pediatrics at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and Physician-in-Chief at the Children’s Hospital at Montefiore (2013-2018). She currently serves as the Physician-in-Chief of the Joseph M. Sanzari Children’s Hospital and the Marvin I. Gottlieb, M.D., Ph.D. Chair, Department of Pediatrics at Hackensack Meridian Health in Hackensack, NJ. Her NIH-funded translational research program focuses on (a) novel therapies to prevent and treat neonatal lung diseases and (b) understanding and mitigating the impact of environmental exposures in infancy on health outcomes for infants and children. She is principal investigator of a pediatric cohort in the NIH-funded Environmental Influences on Child Health Outcomes (ECHO) program. Dr. Aschner has held a number of leadership roles in state and national organizations, including past Secretary-Treasurer of the American Pediatric Society and Chair of the Organization of Neonatology Program Directors. She is a member of the Board of External Experts (BEE) at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institution of the NIH, and is a member of the National Board of Trustees of the March of Dimes.

Laura Degnon, CAE – Executive Director

D. Wade Clapp, MD – Secretary/Treasurer

American Academy of Pediatrics

Lee Savio Beers, MD
President, AAP

Mark Del Monte, JD
CEO/Executive Vice President, AAP


American Board of Pediatrics

Judy Schaechter, MD, MBA
Incoming President and CEO, ABP

H. Stacy Nicholson, MD, MPH
Chair, ABP


Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs

D. Wade Clapp, MD
Secretary-Treasurer, AMSPDC

Ann Reed, MD
President, AMSPDC

Academic Pediatric Association

Latha Chandran, MD, MPH, MBBS
Immediate Past President, APA

Michael Steiner, MD, MPH
Secretary Treasurer, APA


Association of Pediatric Program Directors

Patricia Poitevien, MD, MSc
President-Elect, APPD

Rebecca Blankenburg, MD, MPH
President, APPD


American Pediatric Society

Mary Leonard, MD
President, APS

Clifford Bogue, MD
Secretary/Treasurer, APS


Society for Pediatric Research

Stephanie Davis, MD
Past President, SPR

David Hunstad, MD
Strategy and Operations Officer, SPR

Back To Top